Before the constable or sheriff comes to
remove you, they are required to give you at
least a 24-hour notice. The notice must be
posted on your front doot, be at least 8 72 x
11 inches, and tell you when the Writ will be
enforced. When the constable arrives, they
will order you to leave and if you refuse,
they can physically remove you and your
property. The constable can place your
belongings outside the unit. The landlord is
not required to store your belongings.

HOW DO I APPEAL?

Either side can appeal the decision of the
Justice Court (J.P.) and have the County Court
hear the case. The appeal must be filed within

5 calendar days after the decision. In counting

the 5 calendar days to appeal, Saturdays,
Sundays, and legal holidays are included. If

vou are unable to file your appeal because the
J.P. is officially closed before 5:00 p.m., your
deadline is extended to the court’s next
business day. If the fifth day falls on a weekend
day, then the appeal is due the following
Monday. During the appeal, you may remain in
possession of the property if the following
procedures are followed:

In order to file an appeal, you must pay a cash
bond, appeal bond or file a pauper’s affidavit.
An cash bond is money paid to the court and
the judge sets the amount. An appeal bond is
a bond signed by the tenant and 2 good and
sufficient sureties approved by the Justice of
the Peace. If you cannot afford to pay a cash
bond or file an appeal bond with 2 sureties,
youmay file a pauper’s affidavit. This is a
signed statement from you stating that you are
unable to pay the appeal costs. If you file an
affidavit and are being evicted for non-
payment of rent, in order to remain in the unit
you must also pay a rental period’s rent (usually
one month of rent) into the court registry

within 5 days of filing the appeal and, during
the appeal, you must pay future rent to the
county court registry whenever rent is due
under the lease. If you do not pay the monthly
rent when it is due, the court can issue a writ of
possession, giving you 24 hours to move out.

The appeal process may take one month or
longer. Eventually there will be another trial
and the judge will make a decision without
taking into consideration what happened in the
J.P. court . If you win in county court, you can
stay in the rental. If you lose, you will have to
move out or file a supercedeas bond with the
county court at law within 10 days and appeal
to an appellate level court. This process is very
complicated and you would need to hire an
attorney to assist you. You can only prevail if
the county court judge made legal errors and
not if you just disagree with the decision.

A Tenant's Guide to
Eviction

WHAT IS AN EVICTION?

An eviction is a lawsuit filed by a landlord to
remove someone from the landlord’s property.
The eviction is filed in a Justice of the Peace
Court (J.P.) in the county precinct where the
property is located. The legal term in Texas
for an eviction is “forcible detainer” or a
“forcible entry and detainer”.

WHEN CAN A LANDLORD
EVICT A TENANT?

NOTICE: THE EVICTION PROCESS IS OFTEN
COMPLICATED AND YOU SHOULD CONSULT
AN ATTORNEY FOR LEGAL ASSISTANCE. THIS
BROCHURE IS SOLELY MEANT TO PROVIDE
YOU BASIC INFORMATION ON EVICTIONS.

TRLA

Texas RioGrande Legal Aid

For Assistance: 1-888-988-9996
www.trla.org

This brochure was made possible with a grant from the
State Bar of Texas Litigation Section

As a tenant, you can be evicted for violating
the terms of the verbal or written lease
agreement. Common reasons for eviction are:
* Not paying the rent

®  Causing damage to the property

= Criminal activity

= Excessive noise or disturbing other tenants

In addition, if your landlord chooses not to
renew your lease and you do not move out,
the landlord can evict you. This is called
“holding over.” Landlords can choose not
to renew your lease for any reason, unless it
is for a discriminatory reason under the Fair
Housing Act or in retaliation for requesting
repairs or asserting your rights. If you live
in public housing, federally subsidized
housing, or a Low Income Housing Tax
Credit apartment complex, the landlord
must have good cause not to renew.

If your eviction is for a reason other than
non-payment of rent, continue to pay your
rent to the landlord as usual during the
eviction process.
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MY LANDLORD TOLD ME HE
IS GOING TO EVICT ME. NOW
WHAT?

A landlord can only evict a tenant by filing
an eviction lawsuit in J.P. court. The
landlord must take the following steps:

® The landlord must first give you a
written notice to vacate. The notice
must be given to you in person or to
anyone over 16 years of age in the unit.
The landlord may also send the notice
by mail or post it on the inside of the
front door of the rental property.

* The notice must state the date by which
you must leave or vacate the unit. This is
not the date when you will be removed
from the property. The notice period will
depend on the lease. If the lease is not
specific about the notice petiod, the
landlord must give you at least a 3-day
notice to vacate for breaching the lease.

= If the tenant does not move out of the
unit after the notice expires, the next
step is for the landlord to file a Forcible
Detainer (Eviction) lawsuit in the J.P.

* If the landlord does not renew your
lease, he or she is required to give you
notice as required by the terms of the
lease. If you pay rent monthly, the
landlord must give you at least a 30-day
notice of termination of the lease,
followed by a notice to vacate.

* Ifyou live in public or subsidized housing,
or a Low Income Housing Tax Credit
apartment complex, the notice
requirements are set by federal law and the
regulations differ depending on the

program. You should consult an attorney
to see if the notice was proper.

WHAT IF I DO NOT MOVE
OUT BY THE DATE ON THE
NOTICE TO VACATE?

WHAT WILL HAPPEN AT THE
TRIAL?

If you do not leave the propetty by the date on
the notice, the landlord can file an eviction.
The eviction papers, also called the “citation”
and “petition” may be served on you by a
county constable. The constable can give the
citation papers to anyone over 16 years old at
the property. If the constable tries at least two
times and cannot find anyone to serve, the
constable can post it to the door or slip it
under the door. The petition should list
specifically why you are being evicted.

WHAT SHOULD IDO IF I
HAVE BEEN SERVED BY THE
CONSTABLE?

If you are served with an official notice (an
eviction citation) and a copy of the lawsuit by
the constable, those papers will tell you when
you must appear in the J.P. court. You should
closely follow the instructions in the eviction
citation. If you prefer that a jury rather than the
Judge hear your case, you can request a jury and
pay $22.00 at least 3 days before the trial. If you
cannot afford the $22.00 fee, you can file with
your jury request, a swotn statement of your
inability to pay the fee (“pauper’s affidavit”)..

If any of the court papers you received are called
something like “Request for Immediate
Possession” or “Immediate Possession Bond”,
you must show up at the trial setting that is
listed in the citation; otherwise, the landlord can
get possession of the premises immediately after
the hearing.

Be sure to arrive at the court early and do not
miss your hearing. If you fail to attend the
hearing, the landlord will likely ask for a default
judgment against you. The judge will give each
side an opportunity to present their side of the
case. You must be prepared to tell your side of
the story before you get to court. Remember to
take copies of important documents such as
your lease, proof of payment, or written
communication between you and the landlord.
If you have witnesses who can support your side
of the case, have them come to the hearing also.

The judge will likely rule against you if he or she
finds: 1) that you have violated your lease
agreement; 2) that the landlord has given proper
notice to vacate the premises or terminate the
lease; and 3) you have no legal defenses.

The judge will likely rule in your favor if he or
she finds: 1) you have not violated your lease; 2)
the landlord did not give you proper notice; or
3) you have a legal defense.

WHAT IF I WIN IN COURT?

If the judge rules in your favor, the landlord
cannot take possession of the property and
you can remain living there. The lawsuit
will be over unless the landlord appeals.
You will have to keep paying rent and
following the lease terms because they can
file a new eviction if you violate the lease.

WHAT IF I LOSE IN COURT?

If the landlord wins, the judge will sign an
order giving your landlord the right to
possession of the rental. 1f you do not
appeal or move out within 5 days, the court
can issue a “Writ of Possession” telling the
constable or sheriff to give the landlord
possession of the property.
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