

MAYOR Oscar Leeser

CITY MANAGER Dionne Mack CITY COUNCIL

District 1
Brian Kennedy

District 2Dr. Josh Acevedo

District 3Cassandra Hernandez

District 4
Joe Molinar

District 5 Isabel Salcido

District 6

District 7 Henry Rivera

District 8
Chris Canales



01/03/2025

REMINDER:

City of El Paso to Host Swearing-In Ceremony for Newly Elected

Community Reminded About Clear Bag Policy and Safety Measures at the Plaza Theatre

EL PASO, **Texas**—The City of El Paso invites the public to attend the Swearing-In Ceremony for the newly elected City officials.

The ceremony will take place at 6 p.m. Monday, January 6, 2025, at the historic Plaza Theatre, 125 Pioneer Plaza.

Parking

This special event is open to the public, and free parking will be available at the El Paso Convention Center garage to accommodate attendees.

Clear Bag Policy

Visitors planning to attend the ceremony are also reminded about a new clear bag policy at the Plaza Theatre. Under the Clear Bag Policy, attendees are encouraged to only bring the following permitted items:

- One clear bag per guest that is made of plastic, vinyl, or PVC, with dimensions no larger than 12" x 6" x 12".
- Small clutch purses no larger than 4.5" x 6.5", approximately the size of a hand, with or without a handle or strap. These clutches are subject to search.
- Each guest, including children, is allowed to bring an approved clear bag and a clutch purse.

Security Measures

- Metal detector screening and a search of all items being carried will occur at all venue entrances.
 Guests with prohibited items will be asked to return them to their vehicle.
- Diapers and wipes may be carried in a clear bag; however, diaper bags will not be permitted.
- Exceptions will be made for medically necessary items after proper inspection at designated security gates. Guests requiring this service are encouraged to notify security staff prior to scanning.

<u>Important Notice</u>: There are no provisions to check prohibited bags or items. Guests will be required to return prohibited items to their vehicles or dispose of them at the entrance. Staff is not responsible for any items left behind, lost, stolen or damaged.







MAYOR Oscar Leeser

CITY MANAGER Dionne Mack

CITY COUNCIL

District 1 Brian Kennedy

District 2 Dr. Josh Acevedo District 3 Cassandra Hernandez

District 4

Joe Molinar

District 6

Art Fierro

District 5 District 7 Isabel Salcido Henry Rivera

> **District 8** Chris Canales

About the Ceremony

The following newly elected officials will be sworn in during the event:

CITY COUNCIL MEMBERS:

- **Mayor-Elect:** Renard U. Johnson
- **District 1 Rep-Elect:** Alejandra Chávez
- **District 2 Rep-Elect:** Dr. Josh Acevedo
- **District 3 Rep-Elect:** Deanna Maldonado Rocha
- District 4 Rep-Elect: Cynthia Boyar Trejo
- **District 5 Rep-Elect:** Ivan Niño
- **District 7 Rep-Elect:** Lily Limón

MUNICIPAL COURT JUDGES:

- Court 1 Judge-Elect: Michelle Morales
- **Court 2 Judge-Elect:** Kristin Romero
- Court 3 Judge-Elect: David A. Bonilla
- Court 4 Judge-Elect: Samuel Flores
- Court 5 Judge-Elect: Mike Herrera
- Court of Appeals Judge-Elect: Maria B. Ramirez

Following the ceremony, a public reception will be held in the theater's lobby, offering an opportunity for family, friends, and community leaders to celebrate this momentous occasion.

The newly sworn-in Council members will begin their official duties the next day, with the first City Council meeting scheduled for 9 a.m. Tuesday, January 7, 2025, at City Hall, 300 N. Campbell.

###